Lisa Cutts: The East Rise Series

Book blurbs

Mercy Killings

The death of a local sex offender places the police officers at East Rise incident room under immense pressure – they must treat this case like any other murder, but they know what Albie Woodville did and can feel little sympathy. Except, as the investigation progresses, it becomes clear this isn’t just a one-off killing – someone is out for revenge …

Buried Secrets

To most people, Detective Inspector Milton Bowman appears to have an ideal life. But some secrets aren’t buried deep enough.

After a tragic car accident, and a shocking murder, DI Milton’s colleagues have to start digging into every aspect of his life. 

Suspicion and disbelief creep into their lives as a web of deceit unfolds – the Bowman family, friends and even colleagues come under suspicion. No one is to be trusted.

Nothing is as it appears.

Lost Lives


When Anna arrives in the UK, she believes it’s the start of a better life for her and her daughter. But what awaits her is more shocking than anything she could have ever imagined . . .


DI Harry Powell is investigating a shooting, but the victim has been scared into silence. As Harry struggles to piece together what little information he has, he stumbles upon an operation that may put countless lives across the country at risk.


As Anna’s situation grows more dangerous by the day, Harry is forced to push his overstretched team to the limits to find answers. But for one of them, will it already be too late?

My thoughts

The East Rise Series is a very good Police procedural which addresses the darker elements of life and Police work – murder, paedophilia, Police corruption, trafficking – written by a currently serving Police Officer.

Along with the plot in each book is the growing development of the two main characters Detective Inspector (DI) Harry Powell and Hazel – ‘Haze’. Their developing relationship adds another layer to the stories. It is not just Harry and Hazel there’s a team from DCI Barbara Venice to Tom, Sophie Pierre and, latterly, DC Gabriel Royston. As you read the books there is more to find out about each of them. Still Lisa Cutts pulls no punches on what happens to her characters to ensure authentic, captivating and believable storylines. As with all Series each book brings more to the characters giving greater clarity, understanding and interest. Each book can, as you would expect, be read as a stand-alone but then you would miss out on all the development and investigations of this family of police officers.

With Mercy Killings we are most certainly being introduced to the characters and there are quite a few so you may want to concentrate more on the storyline which is gritty and gives a fair bit of insight into how the police work and interact with each other, the crime scene, the witnesses, the main investigation and other elements of what is happening alongside it.

Buried Secrets brings Harry and the team back with an investigation into two deaths – close to home – and has a hard look at whether one of their own is corrupt or, perhaps, even a murderer. It shows how an investigation can affect those involved – the families, the suspects and the police who are investigating the crimes and those supporting the family. With this book Lisa Cutts is bringing to the reader a really good story and terrific characters.

With the latest in the series Lost Lives – and the best, so far – we are brought a dark, heart wrenching story of human trafficking. Bringing to life what happens to those people who are seeking a new and better life by buying passage to the UK and how they are caught up in such appalling and abhorrent situations. Will Harry and the team be able to unravel what is happening? Will they keep John safe? Will they find Anna? Will it be too late? Will there be devastating consequences for Harry and the team?

Each book brings a new investigation, a new plot and greater insight into Harry and the team. Each is quite gritty, hard hitting and well written. These are books which have grown into a tremendous series and is well worth reading.


Whilst I purchased the first two books I was delighted to receive the third from Simon and Schuster via NetGalley. Many thanks for an eCopy of Lost Lives by Lisa Cutts.


In one fell swoop I have read three more in the #20BooksofSummer challenge!


Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Buy: East RiseAmazonSmileUK


Lisa Cutts is a full-time detective constable investigating murders for a living. When she finds the time, she writes crime fiction.

She is the author of the DC Nina Foster series, ‘Never Forget’ and ‘Remember, Remember.’

‘Mercy Killing’ was published on 20th October 2016 by Simon and Schuster. It is the first in a new series of East Rise Incident Room crime novels and features some new characters together with a few more familiar ones. The second in the series, ‘Buried Secrets’ was released on 2nd of November 2017, with ‘Lost Lives’ due for release on 15th November 2018.

Lisa works in Kent and also lives there with her husband and scatty Labrador.

She writes a monthly column for Writing Magazine answering police procedural questions from other writers.

In early 2016, she was honoured to become the Patron of Rochester Literature Festival which takes place each October throughout her home County.

Check out Lisa’s Website Follow Lisa on Twitter


Author: lovebooksreadbooks

I love to read and hope you enjoy reading what I have to say about the books I have read.

One thought on “Lisa Cutts: The East Rise Series”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s