Blackpool Lass by Maggie Mason #BlogTour @Authormary #Giveaway #BookReview

Paperback – 20 Sep 2018

07D674F9-792F-486E-BF46-734C7FFAA586

 

Book Blurb

A gritty, emotional tale of 1930s Blackpool from bestselling saga author Mary Wood, writing as Maggie Mason

The perfect read for fans of Mary Wood, Kitty Neale, Val Wood and Nadine Dorries

Orphaned and destitute, will Grace find her own way in the world?

When Grace’s Ma passes away and her Da’s ship sinks with all hands, Grace is utterly alone in the world. She’s sent to an orphanage, but the master has an eye for a pretty young lass. Grace won’t be his victim, so she runs, destitute, into the night.

In Blackpool, she finds a home with the kindly Sheila and Peggy – and meets a lovely airman. But it’s 1938, and war is on the horizon. Will Grace ever find the happiness and home she deserves?

 

My thoughts

This is a wonderful story of a teenage girl who suffers many trials and tribulations in her young life some of which no-one, let alone a thirteen year old, should suffer. After loosing all her family in a short period of time Grace is sent to an orphanage. Maggie Mason pulls no punches in describing what happens to Grace and the other’s that spent time in the orphanage. Grace will not have any of it and soon runs away back to her hometown of Blackpool.

Connecting with friends who take her in we read of how her life goes. This book covers the period 1924 to 1945 with the main story taking place between 1932 and 1941. Life is harsh and you have to work hard to even scrape a living so friends and family are important and these relationships are lovingly brought to life by Maggie Mason.

The author not only tells a terrific story but her characters are great and she brings them to life wonderfully. Gracie is the main character tough and determined as she needs to be to get through what life throws at her. There are many other characters in the story one or two not so nice but by and large the folk that Gracie encounters are warm, generous with what they have, kind-hearted and very supportive. The sense of family – in all it’s sense – and place is really well done in this book.

Not everything goes the way Gracie would want and life in these times gives her, and the women of that era, difficult and unpleasant things to deal with. Still it was life back then and it is right to include it and the author does so subtly and honestly without needing to be graphic weaving these parts of life into the story really well.

We are between the World Wars and life is beginning to change although attitudes and society are slow to keep up men still expect to be the head of the household but women are starting to see this shouldn’t be the way. It might take some time but the book reflects well on the desire and how women strive for a life in which they are treated in a fairer way.

I’d like to take a moment to say how well the sense of place is told in the book. Knowing Fleetwood and, to some degree, Blackpool it was lovely to recognise some of the places and things written about. Conjuring up memories of childhood, albeit in the 1960s and 1970s, of playing on the Mount, taking a ride on the tram, the fun of the seaside and, of course, the illuminations.

Gracie is a terrific character and supported in the story with her Granny, Peggy, Sheila, Aunty Maggie and many more this makes for a wonderful, heartwarming but realistically told story. This is one for those who enjoy something a little more substantial and will certainly appeal to readers who enjoy a story with a strong sense of setting, period and society. The Blackpool Lass is one such book and easy to recommend.

Blog Tour and competition!

With thanks to Mary Wood for the invitation to be part of this blog tour, for which I was delighted to say ‘yes’, and to Sphere for a paperback copy of Blackpool Lass.

“Just to let you know that I am putting on a competition……., I will make up a random question to answer, or just ask for a comment. The prize will be a signed book.” Maggie Mason. Well now isn’t that fantastic? Follow her Facebook Page to get all the details. *Good luck folks!

So do check out the rest of this wonderful tour….

0381402B-E68F-4137-8704-D7FBA70112C1

*Please note I am not responsible for this giveaway, this giveaway is the responsibility of the author.*

Information

Publisher: Sphere (20 Sept. 2018)

Paperback: 432 pages    Language: English

ISBN-10: 0751573159

ISBN-13: 978-0751573152

Buy:            Amazon

Author

C571EAFA-A9EC-4882-9412-94CFB1CE30AAMaggie Mason is a pseudonym of author Mary Wood.
Mary writes historical sagas for Pan Macmillan covering the late nineteenth century to mid-twentieth including both wars. She has 9  books in print and another – THE FORGOTTEN DAUGHTER is realeased in December.
Under her pen name of Maggie Mason, Mary writes regional sagas set in Blackpool, again covering the time period as above. She has her first THE BLACKPOOL LASS published this week – 20th September.
Mary lives in Blackpool and enjoys researching the history of her home town, coming up with some surprising facts and excited to uncover material for future books.
Born the 13th child of 15 children, Mary experienced life at the raw end. Though she says of her childhood that though poor they were happy and were rich in love.
Mary writes full time now having ended her 9 – 5 working life in the Probation service. This experience gave the grittiness she brings to her writing as Mary says she feels compelled to tell it how it is.
                      Mary’s Website   Mary on Facebook  Mary on Twitter     Mary’s Blog
Blackpool Lass is the first book in a planned series of standalone books and trilogies set in her home town of Blackpool published with Sphere.
Next to come with Sphere…

 

1831F9D0-A69D-4E60-AFCE-D94989108DF2

 

Author: lovebooksreadbooks

I love to read and hope you enjoy reading what I have to say about the books I have read.

31 thoughts on “Blackpool Lass by Maggie Mason #BlogTour @Authormary #Giveaway #BookReview”

  1. Thank you so much, Janet, this is such a lovely, informative blog with a review at the heart of it that thrilled me. So happy you enjoyed the book and thank you for hosting me. Much love, Mary x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s