@canelo_co #BlogTour: Deep Fear by Rachel Lynch

An unputdownable crime thriller (Detective Kelly Porter Book 2)

2AD15A61-ABC5-44B7-B7C4-B2EB5C2552EC

Book Blurb

DI Kelly Porter is back. But will this new case push her beyond her limits?

On a peaceful summer’s morning in the Lake District, a woman’s body is discovered outside a church. She’s been murdered and a brutal, symbolic act performed on her corpse. DI Kelly Porter is in charge of the team investigating the crime, and is determined to bring the killer to justice. But as more deaths occur it is clear this is the work of a disturbed, dangerous and determined individual. Can Kelly put the puzzle pieces together before the danger comes closer to home?

Don’t miss this gripping crime thriller featuring an unforgettable detective. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Patricia Gibney and Robert Bryndza. 

My thoughts

This is Rachel Lynch’s second novel in the D I Kelly Porter series. I read and reviewed the first Dark Game earlier this year and Canelo kindly invited me to read and review Deep Fear as part of the Blog Tour. Thanks to Ellie at Canelo for arranging everything so well.

D I Kelly Porter is back and she is on the trail of a brutal murderer. It’s not the best of times for Kelly her mother is ill, her relationship with her sister Nikki is not good, she needs to get her own home. And then a body turns up and time just isn’t on her side. As the investigation into the murder of Moira Tate proceeds more bodies are found. It looks like the same killer, there are plenty of possible suspects and, as the bodies mount up, more and more evidence comes to light but sometimes things aren’t quite what they seem. Will Kelly unravel the mystery so that she, and her team, can catch this dangerous individual? Or, is it too late and, when the next victim is taken, will she be taken off the case because it’s too close to home? Kelly won’t, can’t let that happen but as she puts the pieces together there is one final twist to this terrific story.

This is certainly as good as Dark Game, Rachel Lynch’s first book, which I loved. So, yes, I loved Deep Fear too. It is set in the Lake District, a beautiful part of England (the UK, the World), and Rachel Lynch captures the setting and the love of this area so well. She also knows how to write a dark, gripping, well paced and tense crime thriller with a great plot, lead character and supporting ‘cast’.

Isn’t it great when a *second* book turns out to be so good? The D I Kelly books are becoming a terrific series. I heartily recommend them.

Blog Tour

19A9A913-8573-4F5C-AC55-96ECFB419B7B

Information

Publisher: Canelo

Publication Date: 14 May 2018

ISBN: 9781788630177

@canelo_co

7E51411D-3772-4B8F-90B3-83EAA0F81F7D

Buy:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Previous book: My review Dark Game by Rachel Lynch

AC2C85B2-0803-4BEC-86BB-4F4EB21AD25C

Buy: Currently £0.99  Amazon

Author:  @r_lynchcrime  Rachel Lynch

Rachel Lynch grew up in Cumbria and regularly hiked the fells from a young age.2DDEF9C2-DF93-42B2-A42F-3F5E99EAD0BB
She studied History at the University of Lancaster and gained her Post graduate Certificate of Education at the Institute of Education, London.

Whilst Cumbria and the lakes and fells are never far away from her London pulled her away to teach History and marry an Army Officer, whom she followed around the globe for thirteen years. A change of career after children led to personal training and sports therapy, but writing was always the overwhelming force driving the future. ‘The Dependants‘ was her first novel it charts three fictional Army wives and how they cope when their husbands deploy to Afghanistan for seven months. The human capacity for compassion as well as its descent into the brutal and murky world of crime are fundamental to her work.

She is now represented by Peter Buckman, the Ampersand Agency and published by Canelo. Dark Game is the first book in her DI Kelly Porter series.

She lives near London with her husband and two children. Her husband left the Army in 2013 and they are now concentrating on being civilians. Canelo signed the first three books in the DI Kelly Porter series and Rachel is currently writing the fourth.

Author: lovebooksreadbooks

I love to read and hope you enjoy reading what I have to say about the books I have read.

One thought on “@canelo_co #BlogTour: Deep Fear by Rachel Lynch”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s