In Our Mad and Furious City by Guy Gunaratne

Publish date: 19 Apr 2018

 

Description

Guy Gunaratne’s blistering first novel IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London housing estate that will appeal to fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY marks the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

My thoughts

CE72743E-D161-491E-A4BB-4EEE84176000The fourth and penultimate of the five books from the Headline New Voices 2018 event in Manchester is Guy Gunarante: In Our Mad and Furious City. With thanks to Headline for my copy.

 

This book is about three friends Selvon, Ardan and Yusaf. Three young men, teenagers, just making their way, living their lives. Each are from different backgrounds, cultures, religious experiences brought together through school, through where they live and through their common loves. Their lives are not easy, neither was that of their parents, but they have football, music, girls, family, maybe some dreams and each other. They are looking forward to summer despite personal tragedies. They live around Stones Estate with its tower blocks and underlying tensions. We hear about them, their hopes, expectations and their families through their voices. We read how what transpires over a 48 hour period on the estate will tear their lives apart.

 

This book personalises and, although some of the language of the book can be difficult, it draws you in. It is written from multiple viewpoints but is well structured and well-written. I would recommend this fascinating book.

Rating: 4*

Information

A7EE317F-6DB6-4A30-BC4A-A56417F7B50CHardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Tinder Press (19 April 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1472250192
ISBN-13: 978-1472250193

 

https://tinderpress.co.uk/2018/02/in-our-mad-and-furious-city-events/

Buy:      Amazon             Waterstones       Your local bookstore

 

D8966F49-8F71-47E6-8C32-DDB418C6E8AC

Author: Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.

 

#MADANDFURIOUS       @guygunaratne

38491BDC-0E0E-41AB-AF28-3283E6C2571D

Books, Cats, Etc.

A place to share my love of books, old and new

findingtimetowrite

Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...

Lady Budd

Connecting With My World

heavenali

Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Just One More Chapter

Book Reviews & More

Years of Reading Selfishly

Life is too short to read books you don't love

Crime Cymru

The Welsh Crime Writing Collective

Sharon Dempsey

First Chapter

Beverley's Reads

Book Reviews & The Joy of Reading

the dead authors club

a classics club blog

Independent Bookshops

Be Kind | Browse Safely | Buy Books

ailsacawley

The poetry and writing of Ailsa Cawley. Welcome!

The Last Word Book Review

Musings about books and a blog journal

Ludwig's Thrillers

A guy hunting for thrillers across the world, and a firm believer in the power of tea

Crime Writer Margot Kinberg

...a crime-fictional site

All The Vintage Ladies

A bookish blog (mostly) about women writers of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries

the cavarchives

By [Sarah] Cavar

Hugh's Views & News  

WordPress & Blogging tips, flash fiction, photography and lots more!

BooksPlease

A book lover writes about this, that and the other

The Classics Club

A Community of Classics Lovers

Reading Matters

Book reviews of mainly modern & contemporary fiction

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

Raven Crime Reads

Criminally good reads

The book review café

Book reviews and the occasional ramblings of a book blogger

acrimereadersblog

The Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Challenge

A Fangirl's Opinion

One Girl, Too Many Books

Jen Med's Book Reviews

Musings and Ramblings of a Disorganised Blogger

KayCKay Book Reviews

No one ever reads the same book. We all react to the written word differently. The following are my opinions regarding the books I have read.

Being Anne...

Books, travel, and other things that make life interesting

One More Word

Jules_Writes

What Cathy Read Next...

For book lovers everywhere

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

Free bookreviews and other free book related stuff

Nordic Lighthouse

Spotlight on Nordic / Scandinavian crime fiction... and connections

Bookish Chat

All things bookish.

Traveling Sisters Book Reviews

“Read the best books first, or you may not have a chance to read them at all.” ― Henry David Thoreau

Novel Deelights

Escaping reality one book at a time

The Quiet Knitter

Just a quiet knitter with an addiction to books

Jess Bookish Life

Reader | Writer | Blogger

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

Novel Writing Festival

Monthly Festival : Turn your book into a movie and get it seen by 1000s of people. Or garner FULL FEEDBACK from publishers on your novel and help your next draft. Or get a transcript video of your novel performed by professional actors.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

%d bloggers like this: