In Our Mad and Furious City by Guy Gunaratne

Publish date: 19 Apr 2018

 

Description

Guy Gunaratne’s blistering first novel IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London housing estate that will appeal to fans of THIS IS ENGLAND or LA HAINE.

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY marks the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

My thoughts

CE72743E-D161-491E-A4BB-4EEE84176000The fourth and penultimate of the five books from the Headline New Voices 2018 event in Manchester is Guy Gunarante: In Our Mad and Furious City. With thanks to Headline for my copy.

 

This book is about three friends Selvon, Ardan and Yusaf. Three young men, teenagers, just making their way, living their lives. Each are from different backgrounds, cultures, religious experiences brought together through school, through where they live and through their common loves. Their lives are not easy, neither was that of their parents, but they have football, music, girls, family, maybe some dreams and each other. They are looking forward to summer despite personal tragedies. They live around Stones Estate with its tower blocks and underlying tensions. We hear about them, their hopes, expectations and their families through their voices. We read how what transpires over a 48 hour period on the estate will tear their lives apart.

 

This book personalises and, although some of the language of the book can be difficult, it draws you in. It is written from multiple viewpoints but is well structured and well-written. I would recommend this fascinating book.

Rating: 4*

Information

A7EE317F-6DB6-4A30-BC4A-A56417F7B50CHardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Tinder Press (19 April 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1472250192
ISBN-13: 978-1472250193

 

https://tinderpress.co.uk/2018/02/in-our-mad-and-furious-city-events/

Buy:      Amazon             Waterstones       Your local bookstore

 

D8966F49-8F71-47E6-8C32-DDB418C6E8AC

Author: Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London and has worked as a designer, documentary filmmaker and video journalist covering post-conflict areas around the world, as well as co-founding two technology companies. He was shortlisted for the 4th Estate/Guardian Books B4ME Short Story Prize.

 

#MADANDFURIOUS       @guygunaratne

38491BDC-0E0E-41AB-AF28-3283E6C2571D

Rebecca Bradley

Murder Down To A Tea

Raven Crime Reads

Criminally good reads...

The book review café

Book reviews and the occasional ramblings of a book blogger

acrimereadersblog

The Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival Challenge

A Fangirl's Opinion

Two Girls, Too Many Books

Mac Reviews Books

Book reviews for the masses!

Jen Med's Book Reviews

Musings and Ramblings of a Disorganised Blogger

Shalini's Books & Reviews

Blogger, Reviewer, Publicist, Beta Reader

Nic Perrins

WRITER | READER | REVIEWER | RADIO

KayCKay Book Reviews

No one ever reads the same book. We all react to the written word differently. The following are my opinions regarding the books I have read.

Being Anne...

Books, travel, and other things that make life interesting

One More Word

Jules_Writes

What Cathy Read Next...

For book lovers everywhere

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

Free bookreviews and other free book related stuff

The Annual Bloggers Bash

The Official Website for the Best Blogging Event of the Year!

Nordic Lighthouse

Spotlight on Nordic / Scandinavian crime fiction... and connections

Bookish Chat

All things bookish.

Traveling Sisters Book Reviews

Formerly known as Two Sisters Lost in a Coulee

Novel Deelights

Escaping reality one book at a time

The Quiet Knitter

Just a quiet knitter with an addiction to books

Jess Bookish Life

Reader | Writer | Blogger

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

devoted to thrills

Thrills & Chills

Novel Writing Festival

Monthly Festival : Turn your book into a movie and get it seen by 1000s of people. Or garner FULL FEEDBACK from publishers on your novel and help your next draft. Or get a transcript video of your novel performed by professional actors.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Scribbling Clouds

The place where I put down all my thoughts and observations

Pages Below the Vaulted Sky

Book blog with a speculative focus

Romance Book Binge

Reading Books That Make You Blush

Jennifer ~ Tar Heel Reader

Reading under the light of a Carolina moon

mbc84blog.wordpress.com/

Book reviews for book loving people

Emma R.

Books, Writing and Life!

BOOKS FROM DUSK TILL DAWN

Each night I TRAVEL THE WORLD, I LIVE IN THE MIND OF KILLERS AND WALK AT THE SIDE OF HEROES

Pat Adams-Wright Author

The power of the word never fails!

Linda's Book Bag

Loving books and reading

Mysteries and More from Saskatchewan

A Readers Musings and Reviews

readingwrites

Book reviews and general book blog

Books n All Promotions

Social Media Promotion

Bibliophile Book Club

Books, reviews and more...

elementaryvwatson

Life in Newcastle and beyond...

%d bloggers like this: