Come and Find Me by Sarah Hilary

OUT 22 MARCH 2018



On the surface, Lara Chorley and Ruth Hull have nothing in common, other than their infatuation with Michael Vokey. Each is writing to a sadistic inmate, sharing her secrets, whispering her worst fears, craving his attention.

DI Marnie Rome understands obsession. She’s finding it hard to give up her own addiction to a dangerous man: her foster brother, Stephen Keele. She wasn’t able to save her parents from Stephen. She lives with that guilt every day.

As the hunt for Vokey gathers pace, Marnie fears one of the women may have found him – and is about to pay the ultimate price.

My Thoughts

This is a well written police procedural that will keep you guessing until the end. As this is the fifth book in the series we do get some back story through the book and, of course, we learn more about the various characters on a more personal level. I say ‘of course’ because with a series you are investing as much with the characters of the book as with the story being told. I enjoy this provided it’s not overdone and, in my opinion, it isn’t here.  The book can be read as a stand-alone but it’s always good to read a series from the first book. However, if you read this first you can always go back and catch up. So the DI Rome series is listed below, under information. This is a good series and I believe you’ll be glad you did.

In this, the fifth DI Marnie Rome book, we get a well paced, gripping read. There’s a prison riot, violent attacks on prisoners and in the mayhem a prisoner escapes. Michael Vokey is on the run. He had been imprisoned after an attack on a young mother. He has been moved prisons because he causes problems. He seems to be able to get inside people and manipulate them. He has attracted women and they are writing to him, telling him their desires, asking him to come to them. And now he’s free and Marnie, in charge of finding him and putting him back inside, is worried he might just do that.

We follow the investigation. We hear the voice of one of the hospitalised prisoners, Ted, and find out some of what was happening in the prison and it’s rotten. Marnie and the team chase down leads and you feel their frustrations and their hopes. Most of all you, too, want this man off the streets. The story unfolds beautifully and the ending is, well you’ll just have to read the book and find out for yourself.

This is such a good story and I don’t hesitate to recommend it.

Rating: 4.5*

I was lucky enough to win a copy of this book from a competition thank you Sarah Hilary and Caitlin Raynor at Headline.


Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Headline (22 Mar. 2018)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1472248961
ISBN-13: 978-1472248961

The DI Rome series is available from bookshops or on-line: Waterstones  Amazon

The Detective Inspector Marnie Rome series so far:
1. Someone Else’s Skin (2014)
2. No Other Darkness (2015)
3. Tastes Like Fear (2016)
4. Quieter Than Killing (2017)
5. Come and Find Me (2018)

Author:  Find out more about Sarah Hilary


Author: lovebooksreadbooks

I love to read and hope you enjoy reading what I have to say about the books I have read.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s