A Deathly Silence by Jane Isaac

Book blurb

When the mutilated body of a police officer is found in a derelict factory, Hamptonshire force are shocked to the core.

DCI Helen Lavery returns from injury leave and is immediately plunged into an investigation like no other. Is this a random attack or is someone targeting the force? Organised crime groups or a lone killer?

As the net draws in, Helen finds the truth lies closer than she could have imagined, and trusts no one.

But Helen is facing a twisted killer who will stop at nothing to ensure their secrets remain hidden. And time is running out…

My thoughts

A police officer is murdered, the body mutilated, who committed this appalling crime?

DCI Helen Lavery is preparing to return to duty after an injury when she is called back to head up the investigation.

It is the various characters and actions expertly utilised to weave this tale that will immediately grab your attention and hold it until you reach the final page. You won’t want to put this one down.

This is a gripping, superbly written police procedural. It is well plotted and has terrific, well drawn characters.

I’m not sure why it has taken me until now to read a Jane Isaac book, I have three of her books waiting TBR, but I am so glad I did. Although this is the third in the series it is easy to read as a stand-alone. Still, as I always say, it’s good to read books in order of the series they belong to. I should take my own advice and catch up on the other two books!


With thanks to Legend Press via NetGalley for an eCopy of A Deathly Silence by Jane Isaac


Publisher: Legend Press (15 Oct 2019)

Buy: AmazonSmileUK


Jane Isaac lives with her husband, daughter and dog, Bollo, in rural Northamptonshire.

Her first novel, An Unfamiliar Murder, was published in the US in 2012 and was nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards 2013’. Jane is also the author of The Truth Will Out, Before It’s Too Late, Beneath the Ashes and The Lies Within published in the UK by Legend Press. The Truth Will Out, was selected ‘Crime Thriller of the Month by EThriller.com and ‘Noveltunity Book Club Winning Selection’.

Visit Jane’s Website Or check out Jane Isaac Instagram

Follow Jane on Twitter @JaneIsaacAuthor


DI Will Jackman Series:

Book 1: Before It’s Too Late (June 2015)
Book 2: Beneath the Ashes (November 2016)
Book 3: The Lies Within (May 2017)

DC Beth Chamberlain Series

(Family Liaison Officer)

After He’s Gone: Top 3 ‘recommended’ books of 2018 by Linda Huber on damppebbles.com Crime Blog

Presumed Guilty: ‘Top 10 Read of the Year’ on DaveSivers.com

DCI Helen Lavery Series

An Unfamiliar Murder

Nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards’

Buy On Amazon

The Truth Will Out

Voted ‘Thriller of the Month – April 2014’ by E-Thriller.com

Buy On Amazon

A Deathly Silence

Book Out 15th October 2019

Buy On Amazon

Author: lovebooksreadbooks

I love to read and hope you enjoy reading what I have to say about the books I have read.