Insidious Intent by Val McDermid

‘Sunday Times No1 Bestseller’

Book #10 of the Tony Hill/Carol Jordan series.


A woman’s body is found in a burnt out car in a lay-by on a remote country road in Yorkshire. The case falls to the newly formed Re-MIT unit headed up by Carol. Their first case is turning into a make or break as each lead, and there are so few, goes no-where and the team is getting frustrated. The pressure to get a result is immense.
Carol is facing some demons of her own which is putting more pressure on her and her team. Tony is supporting Carol through her troubles as well as being part of the team but he realises Carol is near breaking point. We have on-going stories from the previous books, not only Carol and Tony, but Stacey’s relationship. Then there’s Paula and Elinor who have recently taken on the role of parents to, Torin, a teenager who appears to be struggling but they don’t know why.
And then there’s another burnt out car in a lay-by with another woman’s body. Small pieces of information are coming together but is it enough to help?
As the investigation goes on the team begin to realise how the women are targeted and then they have a prime suspect in their sights. This is not going to be easy he’s bright, careful, meticulous and forensics-savvy.

Will the team bring the killer to justice?

The ending will take your breath away.

Val McDermid plots so well and, once again, has brought these wonderful characters and another terrific story to the reader.

4.5* – Highly recommended

If you have not read Val McDermid’s Tony Hill/Carol Jordan series I would recommend starting from the beginning:-

Book 1 –The Mermaids Singing (HarperCollins, 1995)

Book 2 –The Wire in the Blood (HarperCollins, 1997)

Book 3 –The Last Temptation (HarperCollins, 2002)

Book 4 –The Torment of Others (HarperCollins, 2004)

Book 5 –Beneath the Bleeding (HarperCollins, 2007)

Book 6 –Fever of the Bone (HarperCollins, 2009)

Book 7 –The Retribution (HarperCollins, 2011)

Book 8 –Cross and Burn (HarperCollins, 2013)

Book 9 –Splinter The Silence (Little, Brown Book Group, 2015)

Book 10–Insidious Intent (Little, Brown Book Group, 2017)

Buy Books: You can buy these books from your local independent bookstore, from Waterstones, or from Amazon and other on-line stores.

Author: Val McDermid find out about the author, this series and all her other books.

Publisher: Little Brown

Linked Reviews:    2017 reviews       The Wire in the Blood



Looking for thoughtful discussions about books and beverages? Well, you've come to the right place.

Taking On a World of Words

Homepage for fledgling writer Sam A. Stevens

Books, Cats, Etc.

A place to share my love of books, old and new


Thinking, writing, thinking about writing...


Book reviews by someone who loves books ...

Just One More Chapter

Book Reviews & More

Years of Reading Selfishly

Life is too short to read books you don't love

Crime Cymru

The Welsh Crime Writing Collective

Sharon Dempsey

First Chapter

Beverley's Reads

Book Reviews & The Joy of Reading

the dead authors club

a classics club blog


The poetry and writing of Ailsa Cawley. Welcome!

The Last Word Book Review

Musings about books and a blog journal

Crime Writer Margot Kinberg

...a crime-fictional site

Hugh's Views & News  

WordPress & Blogging tips, flash fiction, photography and lots more!

The Classics Club

A Community of Classics Lovers

Reading Matters

Book reviews of mainly modern & contemporary fiction

Raven Crime Reads

Criminally good reads

The book review café

Book reviews and the occasional ramblings of a book blogger

A crime readers blog

A place for crime fiction reviews and occasional ramblings of a 40 something in York

A Fangirl's Opinion

One Girl, Too Many Books

Jen Med's Book Reviews

Musings and Ramblings of a Disorganised Blogger

Digital Reads Media

Shalini's Digital Reads & Promotions

KayCKay Book Reviews

No one ever reads the same book. We all react to the written word differently. The following are my opinions regarding the books I have read.

Being Anne...

Books, travel, and other things that make life interesting

What Cathy Read Next...

For book lovers everywhere

The Magic of Wor(l)ds

Book related stuff in English and Dutch!

Nordic Lighthouse

Spotlight on Nordic / Scandinavian crime fiction... and connections

Novel Deelights

Escaping reality one book at a time

Jess Bookish Life

Reader | Writer | Blogger

Scribbling Clouds

The place where I put down all my thoughts and observations

Pages Below the Vaulted Sky

A book blog with a speculative focus

Jennifer ~ Tar Heel Reader

Reading under the light of a Carolina moon



Ah Sweet Mystery!

Celebrating the Golden Age of Detection in books and on screen

Bibliophile Book Club

Books, reviews and more...


Life in Newcastle and beyond...

Reviews by Chloé

Feast your eyes on all the books that I have absolutely LOVED


Book reviews and random musings

%d bloggers like this: